first time for everything

When I was little, probably around 5 or 6 years old, I used to think that there was some sort of a monster living underneath my bed.  I was so afraid of it grabbing my ankles that I used to take a running start from the hallway and launch myself onto my mattress so that it wouldn’t be able to snatch my feet out from under me.  While laying in bed trying to fall asleep, I used to imagine a big impenatrable bubble protecting me from the monster.  I was pretty scared of that monster, to say the least.  This whole blogging thing however, much MUCH worse than that monster underneath my childhood twin-sized bed.  I’ve been dreading this blog since I first decided I wanted to really try and do something with photography as more than just a hobby.  But, I knew that this would be important.  I knew that if I wanted people to see my work then I would have to have a way to display it.  Blah.  But do I really have to write about it??

I’ve been sitting here in front of my computer for over an hour, trying to figure out how to get this proverbial ball rolling.  Ok, fine.  I took a teeny tiny break to hook up my brand spankin new Wii and order some sushi, but really, can you blame a girl?  I was going to wait until I had a bunch of different photos to post so that it wouldn’t be months between my posts, but I just couldn’t resist.  Last night I played around in Photoshop and edited some pictures that I took back in June of my friend Judy and her fiance, Billy.  And, because I have no self control, I decided to post them now!  I guess there’s really no better way to test the water than to jump right in, right? 

Last year, when I was first toying with the idea of photography as more than just a hobby, I started asking people I knew if I could take their photos.  I had taken plenty of pictures of “stuff” but had very little experience taking pictures of people.  A couple of my friends knew about this so when Judy and Billy got engaged, the first thing my friend Lisa did was book me my very first photo gig – without me even knowing!  Lisa, I have to thank you for that.  But more importantly, I have to thank Judy and Billy.  I had so much fun with you guys and I truly enjoyed being able to see a side of you guys that I had never seen before.   

We did the shoot in downtown Boston, starting out in a little courtyard across the street from where Judy works.  Billy and I met her at her office and I honestly think that Judy was more excited to help me out than to have her own picture taken.  That’s just the type of absolutely awesome person that she is.

Here are some of my favorites from the shoot.  Enjoy!

  

  780005

 

755001

 

806006

 

I absolutely love this one.  Judy and Billy – you guys are too cute for words.

770_edited-1001

 

At the beginning of the shoot I told them to try and “smile with their eyes,” ala Tyra Banks style.  I don’t really know what they are doing here though.

826007

 

836008

 

This one is my absolute favorite, hands down.  I love the look Judy is giving Billy, I love the backlighting, I love everything.

839009

 

Then we had a quick wardrobe change for Judy and I snagged a flower for Billy to give to Judy.  Judy had other plans and from the looks of it Billy would have preferred my original idea.

flowerduo019

 

That’s more like it.

880013

 

I love the peacefulness of this one.  Is that even a word?  Well, it is now!

888014

 

906015

 

915016

 

Judy and Billy – thank you so much for being my guinea pigs.  You absolutely rocked it!  I wish you all the happiness in the world.

6 responses to “first time for everything

  1. these are great!

  2. Great pictures!!!

  3. i think you’re off to a fantastic start! these shots look great. isn’t it awesome when the couple is excited too?! looking forward to following your blog 🙂

  4. Cort these are amazing!!!!! Judy looks so in love!

  5. Hey Cort – Congrats on the new endeavor … the shots look great. I thought the one with the glasses held up to the camera was particularly cool.

  6. you both look beautiful in these pictures!! cannot wait to go to the wedding!

Leave a Reply

